The Hyper-Kamiokande Project is in the MEXT Large Projects Roadmap

Hyper-Kamiokande (Hyper-K), a third generation Water Cherenkov detector and the latest in an illustrious series of world-leading experiments located in Japan, is being developed by an international collaboration. It will take advantage of its predecessors: the double Nobel prize winning experiment (Super-)Kamiokande and the extremely succesful K2K (1999-2004) and T2K (2010-) long baseline neutrino experiments. T2K just rejected the hypothesis that neutrinos and antineutrinos oscillate with the same probability at 95% confidence level.

The Hyper-Kamiokande detector is proposed to be a three hundred thousand ton instrumented water tank situated underground in the western mountains of Japan. It will take data for several decades after completion of the first tank in the mid-2020’s to address some of the biggest unsolved questions in physics, that are at the root of understanding the origins of the Universe : Do protons decay? Do neutrinos violate the symmetry between matter and antimatter? Hyper-K will also observe the neutrinos from the Sun and detect and analyse the neutrinos emitted in the spectacular explosions of stars (supernovae) in the cosmos.

The first Hyper-Kamiokande detector will be situated in Kamioka, about 295 km away from the J-PARC proton accelerator research complex in Tokai, Japan. A second detector is planned to be constructed after the installation of the first one. Studies on the design and location of the second tank are underway.

Based on a very competitive selection process on all sciences, the Hyper-Kamiokande project has been chosen for inclusion in the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) Large Project Roadmap. This implies that Hyper-K will then be presented by MEXT to the government to be included in the budget.

A total of 7 projects from the general sciences are in the Roadmap, they are Genome, HL-LHC, Hyper-K, SPICA, LiteBIRD, attosecond pulse laser and the photon factory.

The roadmap, which is in Japanese, can be found in:

http://www.mext.go.jp/b_menu/shingi/gijyutu/gijyutu4/toushin/__icsFiles/afieldfile/2017/07/31/1388523_001_1_1.pdf

Hyper-K is third in the table on page 19. The table order does not represent importance or rank.

Based on the scientific evaluation, urgency, strategy, and support of the society, Hyper-K has received the highest grades with (a, a).

This achievement marks an important milestone in the roadmap for the Hyper-Kamiokande experiment.

Media Contacts for Further Inquiries:

Globally and in Japan:
Prof. Masato Shiozawa, Project Leader, Kamioka Observatory, Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, U of Tokyo (Japan) masato@suketto.icrr.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Globally and in UK:
Prof. Francesca Di Lodovico, co-Project Leader, Queen Mary University of London (UK) f.di.lodovico@qmul.ac.uk
Armenia:
Prof. Ara Ioannisian,Yerevan Physics Institute (Yerevan), Ara.Ioannisyan@cern.ch
Brazil:
Hiroshi Nunokawa, Pontificia Universidade Catolica do Rio de Janeiro (Rio de Janeiro),
nunokawa@puc-rio.br, +55-21-3527-1255/1256/1257
Canada:
Prof. Sampa Bhadra, York University (York), bhadra@yorku.ca, +1- 416-537-4889
Prof. Akira Konaka TRIUMF (Vancouver), konaka@triumf.ca, +1-604-222-7369
France:
Prof. Michel Gonin, Ecole Polytechnique – IN2P3, michel.gonin@polytechnique.edu
Dr. Marco Zito, CEA/IRFU (Saclay), marco.zito@cea.fr, +33-6-84-61-0951
Italy:
Dr. Maria Gabriella Catanesi, INFN Sezione di Bari (Bari), gabriella.catanesi@cern.ch , +41-76-4871532
Japan:
Prof. Takashi Kobayashi, High Energy Accelerator Organization, KEK (Tsukuba), takashi.kobayashi@kek.jp, +81-29-864-5414
Prof. Tsuyoshi Nakaya, Kyoto University (Kyoto), t.nakaya@scphys.kyoto-u.ac.jp, +81-75-753-3870
Korea
Prof. Myoung-Youl Pac, Dongshin University (Naju-si), pac@dsu.ac.kr
Poland:
Prof. Ewa Rondio, NCBJ, Warsaw (Warsaw), Ewa.Rondio@fuw.edu.pl, +48 691 150 052
Russia:
Prof. Yuri Kudenko, INR (Moscow), kudenko@inr.ru, +7-495-8510184
Spain:
Prof. Luis Labarga, University Autonoma Madrid (Madrid), luis.labarga@uam.es, +34-649495811
Switzerland:
Prof. Alain Blondel, Université de Genève (Genève), alain.blondel@unige.ch, +41-22-379-6227
U.K.:
Prof. Dave Wark, STFC-RAL/Oxford University (Oxford), david.wark@stfc.ac.uk, +44-778-818-6085
Ukraine:
Prof. Volodymyr Aushev, Kyiv National University (Kyiv), volodymyr.aushev@desy.de
U.S.A.:
Prof. Edward Kearns, Boston University (Boston), kearns@bu.edu, +1-617-353-3425
Prof. Michael Wilking, Stony Brook University (New York), michael.wilking@stonybrook.edu